I’m Still OK

Well, I figured after all the text messages and emails I’ve been getting, coupled with the fact that I got a notification that my “blog stats are booming,” I’d better write a post and let you know I’m OK.

Most of you have probably heard of the surgence of violence and State of Emergency that has been declared for Ecuador. It’s actually just a result of our new President finally doing what should have been done ages ago – declaring war on these local gangs that have partnered with international drug cartels (from other countries) and taken advantage of our weak government these past few years, to overrun the country with escalating violence. Our little country is sandwiched between two of the largest cocaine producers in the world (Columbia and Peru). These cartels are in a turf war to use our ports for the lucrative practice of shipping their choice product to their top consumers – the U.S. and Europe. Of course, in all these kinds of things there are many complex contributing factors. But it’s really just the same thing that is happening all over the world and that Jesus told us would happen in these last days – the escalation of lawlessness and the battle between light and darkness.

So am I sorry I moved here? Not for a minute. I still feel more safe and at home here than I ever did in the U.S. And I still know without a shadow of a doubt that God brought me here. Some of the reasons I’m starting to see, but I probably won’t really know why until I’m on the other side. However, I know if I’m where He wants me to be, it is the safest place I could be.

I’m in a small, quiet fishing village, in a small, quiet gated community and I am home most of the time anyway. I’ve got plenty of food and supplies for me and my kitties (I’ve learned to keep things well stocked, because anything can change in a moment). And most importantly, I live in Psalm 91. 😇

My view as I write