Good Eats

Entering into our summer time brings us a plethora of abundant and unique fruits here in Ecuador.  I have previously told you about the Ovo, Granadilla and Cherimoya.  This is a fruit you are all probably familiar with, but I cannot imagine many of my friends and family back home knowing what it is like to eat a GIANT mango, fresh off the tree.  My friend, Mesfin, has a huge mango tree in his yard with some of the sweetest, best tasting mangoes you can eat.  Yesterday, he gave me 8 – you will notice there are only 7 in my picture now. 🙂  To give you an idea of size, the largest one on the bottom right is 5 inches long and 12.5 inches in circumference.  Believe me, they are finger licking good!

Mesfin's mangoes

2 thoughts on “Good Eats

  1. You are soooo right. That and watermelon are my favorite fruits. Did I tell you I got my Mexico drivers license before the election? They probably would have failed me after Trump won! With my two year old baby, puppy Prince, I can’t find people to keep him for free too often to come back. I don’t want to impose on friends. Miss you precious friend.

  2. Mary I’m curious as to weather there’s a way to preserve these fruits to keep them in a fresh state for later in the season? Would be great to be able to have them later. When I was growing up as I’ve told you it was pretty much the same as where your at now and I remember the cellars not as we think of now but a place dug into the soil where it stayed moist and kept fruit and potatoes and such until the next season is this something you do? Kalyn James seven year old has lots of questions about other countries I know this is something she might even like to write a short story about. Ok I’m full of questions tonight so I’ll give you a break for now. Love you

    Get Outlook for iOS

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

