I’m Still Cooking!

Friends back in my hometown of Dallas keep informing me of their change in the weather and how “cold and crummy” it is getting there.  Up until a few weeks ago, we were still in our winter, which was the longest, chilliest one I’ve experienced here so far.  During that time, I was inspired to experiment with my crockpot.  Now that we have warmed up, I’m not likely to be doing my soups anymore.  But the other day, I decided to give one of them one more go around this season with my own tweaks, and it turned out great!  So now that my Dallas friends are entering the weather I just finished (OK, maybe mine wasn’t quite as cold and crummy), I thought you’d enjoy making my adaption of Nacho Soup.  It is really hearty and flavorful, and so great to just come home and find dinner ready.  I’m actually giving the full recipe here that will yield you 6-8 servings (bowls), but I easily made half this in my little 1.5 quart crockpot.  It’s really great to have leftovers because they reheat well and are even better the second day.

So if you decide to try it, let me know what you think!

NACHO SOUP
– 1 c. chopped yellow onion
– 1 c. chopped green pepper
– 1 jalapeño, deseeded and chopped (or I used equivalent slices of pickled jalapeños)
– 3 cloves of garlic, pressed
– 2 medium tomatoes chopped (or can use 1 can diced tomatoes drained)
– 1 can black beans, drained
– 1 can yellow corn, drained
– 3 cups chicken broth
– 1-1/2 tsp. chili powder
– 1-1/2 tsp. cumin
– 1-1/2 tsp. salt (or to taste)
– 1 tsp. pepper
– 1/8 tsp. red pepper flakes (this is if you like a little pep, which I do)
+ 8 oz. shredded cheddar cheese
+ 1 c. heavy cream
+ 3-4 tblsp. flour

Combine all but last three ingredients in slow cooker and cook on low for 8 hours or high for 4 hours.  At the last 30 minutes, stir in cheese and then whisk cream and flour together and stir into mixture. Serve with tortilla chips.

4 thoughts on “I’m Still Cooking!

  1. I’m going to try this soon as I’m up and going again I’m still flat in the bed with this broken knee cap, this is four weeks in bed and 8 more days before I see the Doctor again. I am going to be a raving maniac soon. Glad your weather turning nice and you we just turned our heat on about the 5th so we really don’t have much to complain about can’t remember ever not needing heat until December 5th. Everyone’s doing great as far as I know kinda hard to keep up right now. Love you

  2. I’m in Dallas for my 8year olds performance in the Nutcracker again this year. It’s been over 6 months. I feel it will be my last. All seems to be going well after the election…hope it stays cool! Trump was so to be president at this time in our history. Still have no idea what Mexico is going to do with us! How about you? Drove by your street three days ago! Will be at church tomorrow. I go home Monday. Yes, very cold weather here. Sure didn’t need to bring sunglasses. Happy Christmas, Deena

  3. Hi Mary….your blogs bless me! Just read again about your being revealed to your brother and talking to him. Brings me to tears and reminds me again of God’s tender care, that He has His own timing for His own reasons, and that He is Good and Trustworthy. All the time. Love you,
    dear one. Thank you for the soup recipe! I’m always excited about a good soup recipe. And yes, it is COLD here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

