Election Reflections

Well, on this Election Day in America, I finally decided to weigh in on “the state of the Union,” but not in the way you might think.  Although I have read very few media reports, I’ve kept abreast (through my spiritual twin brother) of the major highlights (or should I say antics) of this election.  Let’s just say, I warned you.

But my reflections today are not about the election itself.  For in anything like this, I look at a much bigger picture.  This message is mainly for my Christian brothers and sisters in America.  For years, I pleaded with God to “awaken His sleeping bride” in the U.S.  I saw (for the most part) a people that were primarily caught up with their own self-interest and comfort, and not focused on the Kingdom of God.  They seemed happy to be saved, but then go on with their life, expecting their salvation just meant they now had a God who would bless them.

But I believe the rapid decline in the U.S. over the past few years, culminating with the escalating chaos surrounding this election, has finally served to answer that prayer.  For the most part, the (true) church finally appears to be eyes wide open and sober minded regarding the times we are living in.

But these times are not ones that should bring fear and anxiety upon us.  No matter what is happening in the political arenas, not just in the U.S., but around the world, the church needs to remember these important truths found in scripture:

1 Why do the nations conspire (rage)
and the peoples plot in vain?
2 The kings of the earth rise up
and the rulers band together
against the Lord and against his anointed, saying,
3 “Let us break their chains
and throw off their shackles.”
4 The One enthroned in heaven laughs;
the Lord scoffs at them.
5 He rebukes them in his anger
and terrifies them in his wrath, saying,
6 “I have installed MY king
on Zion, my holy mountain.” (Psalm 2:1-6 NIV – emphasis added)

“So when all these things begin to happen, stand and look up, for your salvation is near!”  (Luke 21:28 NLT)

In times like these, we need to remember that our hope lies, not in the stability of the kingdoms of this world, but in a “Kingdom that cannot be shaken,” (Hebrews 12:28) “a Kingdom that will never be destroyed,” (Daniel 2:44), and of which “His government and peace will never end.” (Isaiah 9:7).

“Even so, come Lord Jesus!” (Revelation 22:20)

3 thoughts on “Election Reflections

  1. Thank you! I just love the way you write Mary –
    I’ve not kept up (too much) with the election; the last news I got was about Comey, FBI, Hillary emailgate and thought rather smugly she was getting hers – only to hear that yesterday either Comey was threatened or was bought off to stop the investigation. Which brings us back to the stark reality that there is an intense spiritual battle occurring for the mind and soul of the Church. Beyond the election results, the Truth is: God is shaking America and the world; sheeps and goats are being divided and my only concern now is to be among the Faithful. Run the race set before me. It is such a race Mary! The battle is so intense sometimes I think I’m going to literally go crazy. “Jesus, You are all I want; I purposefully submit to Your Authority as You see Your Father approve for me. Let me speak your Truth to everyone You tell me to, and to bear the prejudices I see even in my own family now. Obedience is better than sacrifice; I chose YOU today, this hour, this minute. I love YOU so much no matter the outcome”.
    I would love to know what your spiritual twin brother has felt. Am I the only one battling?
    You are always on my mind and my heart – I think of you often as you live your life in the’ alternate way’; a contemporary John The Baptist (Joan?!) Your example gives me strength and the assurances it is not meant to be easy – the path to destruction is wide and many follow; the path to righteousness and eternal life is by the narrow gate; paraphrased by yours truly. I am honored to be in the conflict, but just wish I were stronger and could see ‘results’ (not sure that is the right choice of words; sometimes I just want more assurances which speaks to my immaturity all the more……sigh.) It’s a battle; But, I am craving and eating more meat these days and I have noticed that I need to remind myself more often that it is NOT ABOUT ME; it’s about Jesus and His Kingdom – and amazingly, that is a victory in my tiny little book!
    Allison Baldwin

Leave a Reply

