Full Circle

Thank you for your continued concern and prayers as we recover from Saturday’s devastating earthquakes.  Most of us here had power restored by 2:30 a.m. Sunday morning – we were surprised, but grateful to have it back so quickly.  I just got internet restored last night and am hoping it stays.   Most of us faired pretty well in my little town with minimal damage.  However, we are hearing first hand reports from friends in our regular shopping town of Manta (just an hour north) that it is a “war zone” with much devastation.  Please continue to pray that we suffer no more major aftershocks (at last count we’ve had 275 quakes and shocks since this thing started and I just felt another tremor a few moments ago).  I will publish a full update later in the week.

But it was one year ago today that my dear, dear friend Robert passed away.  What a sad day that was when I awoke to find several messages and emails from him, as he tried to connect with me one last time in the final hours of his life before he was euthanized.

I have found the first year following the loss of a loved one to be an ongoing journey of remembering and reflecting, most specifically on what was happening in your relationship with them the same time the previous year.  This past year I’ve relived the ups and downs of the “Robert story” all along the way.  Now I’ve come full circle, to the day that was an “end and beginning” this time last year.  It feels sad but good to close the circle and move on.

I don’t think there has been a day this past year that Robert hasn’t crossed my mind, if even briefly.  And I still doubt there ever will be.  The intersection of our Journeys has left an indelible mark on me that will never be erased.  I am grateful to have known him and loved him.  I’m grateful to have been a part of his life and to get to tell you his story from my perspective.  And more than anything, I’m so grateful for the many lessons God has taught me through this whole experience – most importantly how deeply His love for each and every one of us is written on His heart.

4 thoughts on “Full Circle

  1. I am so glad to hear again that you are ok. I have been praying since I heard the news.
    Blessings friend!
    Bonnie

  2. Hey there,
    I am so very happy to know that you are safe and well! I love you so very much. I think of you quite often 🙂 so I totally understand about you Thinking about Robert every day. I am so very happy that you got to know and love him 🙂
    Blessings on you my sweet sweet friend,
    Amelia

  3. Mary – I am so happy to hear you are ok. I read your story about Robert today. Seemed fitting as it has been a year since he died. I am so happy for both of you to have met and enjoyed one another even for such a short time. It is often those who pass through our lives for but a brief moment that make the most lasting impression. Think of you often. Your cousin, Liz

  4. I am so glad that you are okay. I have been thinking about you yeasterday and found an email with the blog address. There has been alot happening on this side of the boarder which of course is no excuse for not getting back in touch. It usually takes a disaster and in this case at least, you are okay.

Leave a Reply

