More From Mary’s Kitchen

I know that is a shocking statement for those who know me well.  My mother was a fabulous cook, but that talent was not passed on to me.  However, necessity is the mother of invention, and although I’m still far from being a cook, I have definitely stepped up my food preparation skills since living here.  As previously mentioned, I now frequently make my pickled beets recipe and my homemade salsa recipe has gotten down right famous in these parts (no kidding!).  So I thought it would be fitting that today, on what would have been my mother’s 91st birthday, I bring you yet another recipe born out of depravation.  It started with some other versions, but was then tweaked to make it perfect for my palate (and I gotta say, I couldn’t make enough of it while Amy & Melanie were here – they kept gobbling it up!)  Here is my homemade Hummus!

  • 1 can garbanzo beans (chickpeas)
  • 2 cloves garlic (pressed)
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp salt (to your taste)
  • 2 Tblsp olive oil
  • 2 Tblsp tahini paste
  • 2 Tblsp lime juice
  • 3 1/2 Tblsp reserve garbanzo liquid

Blend well in food processor or blender.  Serve with veggies or pita bread.  Better 2nd day and beyond.

4 thoughts on “More From Mary’s Kitchen

  1. Thank you for sharing! I love to receive tried and true homemade recipes! 🙂 Hope mine will be as delicious as yours 🙂 Love you!

Leave a Reply

