Robert Remembrance

October 2014As I’m sure those of you who follow my blog may have guessed, I’m a very reflective person.  And so I cannot help but recall that exactly one year ago today, I received an email from Robert that shortly thereafter quieted my blogging and sent me on a one month adventure that culminated in our reconnecting on a cruise.  What an incredibly exhilarating, intense, exciting, nail-biting time that was!  I still look back and am amazed at all God allowed me to do and experience in understanding His incredible, sacrificial love and pursuit of each and every one of us.

I’ve long understood that grief is not something you “get over” but something you “go through” and the first year is especially poignant, as you reflect back on what was happening with your loved one at that time the previous year.  Although I am no longer feeling the intensity of a fresh loss, there is still not a day that goes by that I’m not reminded and think of him at some point.  God taught me so much in and through the Robert Story and as a result, I am thankful to say, I will never be the same.

2 thoughts on “Robert Remembrance

  1. I so understand and relate to your journey. I am coming up on the third year of Bruce’s death. It is easier but a day does not go by that I don’t think about him or something reminds me of him.
    I love the blog 1 Fit Widow. She is very inspirational.

  2. Mary,
    I am so thankful that you were able to go on that cruise. I know how hard this past year has been on you especially being so far away from him at the time he passed. That’s so hard. My thoughts and my prayers are always with you. I speak your name out loud to God in my nightly prayers and again on Sunday morning.
    Peace be with you
    Barbara

Leave a Reply

