Un Buen Dia

Today was a good day.  I woke up well before dark, so I laid in bed answering a few emails and then prayed.  When I finished, I noticed it was unusually light outside.  This is normally our cloudy time of year.  But even in sunny season, it generally starts out cloudy, so sunrises are rather rare.  But I looked out my small easterly bedroom window just in time to realize the sun was coming up over the mountains!  I grabbed my phone and ran up on my deck to snap these pictures.  If you can look past the telephone pole, you’ve got a pretty spectacular site!


Then later in the morning, I headed out with a few friends for our somewhat monthly outing of breakfast at the Donkey Den Guest House in Santa Marianita.  This is a regular gathering place for the Manta ex-pats on Sundays (including my friends, Jim and Jane).  After a leisurely breakfast and socializing (that ended about noon) we decided to stop for something to drink at the end of the beach.  We were just in time to watch the kitesurfers get going.  Santa Marianita is a rather famous spot for the sport and there are several kitesurfing schools there.  This video doesn’t really capture just how many there were in the water or some of the amazing stunts they were doing, but you get the idea of what a cool thing it is to watch!  (Sorry for all the wind noise, but that is what makes it such a great place to kitesurf!)

After returning home, I took a beach walk at low tide into my old neighborhood to visit my doggy friend, Tag.  Bill & Elaine are still in Canada (hoping to return later this month) so he is presently being looked after by our friend Sam (who is presently back in Switzerland, so his caretaker is in charge!)  Tag has had more than a few “medical mishaps” in the past couple of months and I’ve been the one to oversee his vet care and treatment.  Last Sunday brought a scary phone call informing me that Tag’s whole head and neck were very swollen.  We’re still not sure what happened (possibly a snake bite) but he was in a bad way.  Fortunately, I just happened to know that his original vet was coming to Cayo to make house calls that day, so we got her to come and treat him.  I’ve been monitoring him over the past week, and I’m happy to report that as of today, he was 100% back to normal – thank you God!

Leave a Reply

