For The Record

As I’ve mentioned before, there are certainly plenty of behind-the-scenes things that don’t make my blog.  Recently, in regards to one of them, my “spiritual twin brother” encouraged me (again) that I really needed to post the details of it in advance.  So for the record, here goes…

Back in Dallas, there is a woman who is highly prophetic and had a profound impact on my life.  She is a licensed counselor and we met through Samaritan’s Well, a Christian counseling ministry where I volunteered my time and training to offer inner healing prayer ministry at some of their clinics.  I was blessed by so much of her teaching at them and on three separate occasions, I went to her personally for counsel and prayer during specific times of struggle (including while my mom was ill).  Every one of the three times I saw her, I came away from each session with huge, life changing “fruit.”

The last time I saw her was to share with her (after my mom passed away) the story of what I felt God was calling me to do.  She received the email I sent out when I finally made plans to move and my Christmas newsletter last year.  Other than that, we have not been in touch.  But on May 18th of this year, I received an email message from her that simply said in the subject line, “Do you live near Ecuador?”  I responded and told her I was IN Ecuador, and she replied by saying, “Can we talk?”  It took us a week to match our schedules up, but when we were finally able to speak on May 25, she shared with me why.

She said she had been praying (in tongues) in her house and suddenly heard, “Ecuador.”  She then saw a vision of a massive and devastating fire that swept across the land.  She said it went through a “sophisticated” city.  She heard that the shape of the continent and/or coastline would change.  Then she said she saw huge angels underneath Ecuador, holding up what looked like a giant artery.  It was pulsing and they were struggling under the weight of it.  She stated she believed it was a volcano and that the Lord would allow it to happen.  The rest of the word was some personal specifics that pertain to someone I know here as it relates to what else she saw, and how I should be praying for them.  (It should be noted that not only could she not remember where I’d moved to, she didn’t even know where Ecuador was and had to look it up on a map.)

Later in the day after we spoke, I was out shopping with my friend Teresa (who is also a believer in all things God and Jesus) and I shared with her the “word.”  I also shared with a few of my “prayer covering” friends back home.  The lady who had given me the “word” as well as other people, had prayed for me that if this was something that was valid, the Lord would confirm it (and I was praying that as well).  The day after the “word,” Teresa sent an email with a link to a news article indicating that the Wolf volcano, on one of the Galapagos islands, had erupted for the first time in over 30 years.  The day of the eruption was the day I received the word!

Then just one week following, on June 3, I received an email from another friend here (who knew nothing of the “word”) that said according to the Ecuadorian Geophysical Institute, Cotopaxi volcano (near the capital city of Quito) had been experiencing “an unusually high level of seismic activity, more frequent movement of magma inside the volcano, and an increase in sulfur dioxide emissions.”  This volcano has not erupted in over 70 years!

And now most recently, on August 14, the Ecuadorian government raised the volcanic activity alert to “yellow” following explosions that released gases and ash.  Then on August 15, they ordered precautionary evacuations of some low-lying areas near the volcano.  (Even as I began writing this yesterday, Cotopaxi belched another round of steam and ash high into the sky.  I was unaware of it until I did a search to add the link for reading about the volcano).

In addition, on August 17 and 18, we had two separate earthquakes (both measuring 4.5) in areas not far (about 35 miles) from where I live.  I felt them both and they’ve been the strongest I’ve felt since I’ve been here.  If you draw a slightly diagonal line east from me (about 2:00), it would go just about right through the epicenter of the earthquakes and to the volcano (about 200 miles away).  Earthquakes and volcanoes are closely connected (with one event usually precipitating the other or vice versa).  Due to the previous history I have with the person who gave me the “word,” I took it seriously.  Obviously now, I take it very seriously!  I have certainly been in prayer regarding all these things since the very first day.

Matthew 24:6-8 says:  “You will hear of wars and rumors of wars, but see to it that you are not alarmed.  Such things must happen, but the end is still to come. Nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom.  There will be famines and earthquakes in various places.  All these are the beginning of birth pains.”

Much is happening all over our planet to indicate that the shaking is coming and will only continue to escalate.  I’ve said it before and I will say it again – the only safe place for any of us to be is “in the shelter of the Most High”!  (Psalm 91:1)

Leave a Reply

