“Called For Life”

imageI’m sure all of you remember the dramatic story of Dr. Kent Brantly, who contracted the Ebola virus while serving as a medical missionary in Liberia and subsequently gained international attention as the first American to have done so.  If you were following my blog then, you will also know that I have several close, personal ties to this family, as mentioned in my post at the time, Please Pray!  I was later horrified to hear so much of the fear and lack of compassion that came over so many people when he was brought home to the United States to be treated, and I reflected on it in my post Fear vs. Love.

Thankfully, Kent survived this horrible illness and has gone on to give incredible testimony regarding the goodness of God, even in the midst of our darkest times.  His and Amber’s book, Called For Life, was released this past week, just two days shy of the one year anniversary of when he first showed signs of being ill.  It was a particularly moving read for me because I know this family.  But even for those who don’t, I think it is a powerful witness and encouragement to any who would read it.  One of my main prayers during that time (that I now know was echoed by Kent, his family and many others around the world) was that no matter what, God would be glorified.  I am so grateful that Kent’s life was spared and I believe God has answered that prayer and is continuing to do so in incredible ways – I highly recommend reading this book!

Leave a Reply

