Introducing “Robert’s Story”

As promised in my blog post, “Just Let Me Cry,” I have done my best to chronicle for you the over a year long, behind-the-scenes story about a very dear man in my life, Robert (from my perspective, of course).  However, a short and simple blog post that will eventually get buried under others would be an incredible injustice to the subject of the story, as well as its Author.  So I have created a permanent blog page called “Robert’s Story” – and it is fitting that I would publish it today on what would have been his 45th birthday (had he still been alive, I would have likely been in Belgium with him).  This will not be something for my “casual readers” who just like hearing about the antics of my life in Ecuador.  This is the story of one precious soul and just how much he mattered to me and to God.  Read it only when you have plenty of time, (it will take you 1.5 to 2 hours) and I suggest keeping a box of Kleenex nearby.

Below are a few pictures of some of my favorite memories with him.  And so now, regarding my first year and a half in Ecuador, you can finally know (as Paul Harvey would say) “the rest of the story…” – Robert’s Story

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “Introducing “Robert’s Story”

  1. Wow what a story. Yes, I had talked with you for hours as you told me most of this. I really enjoyed hearing more than before, even more than you told here. I believe, as you, his last words tell it all. He saw and heard through you what a loving God we have. He is there with him now all well and very happy that you were brought into his life for that very reason…..to be where he is now. As I tell you so often, your awesome! Much love, Deena

  2. Right now I have no words as your story touches too close to home with me. I know I had a purpose too in Bruce Culp’s life and I had more time with him than you did with Robert. The ending still is hard to swallow. I miss Bruce every single day. I have moments of happy memories but I still miss him. I look forward to be reunited with him as I know that he believed that Jesus is his Lord and Savior.

    I am so very sorry for your loss. It is never easy.

    Love you,

    E

    • Thanks so much, Elisabeth – I know you can relate to the loss in many ways, although yours was much more unexpected. The pain changes forms and lessens somewhat, but the “missing” is never gone. Fortunately it will not last forever.

Leave a Reply

