Pick-Me-Ups

Well, after last week’s Hard Lessons, the Lord has been faithful to “restore my joy” this week in several ways.  First, knowing how much I love them and was longing to see them again, beginning Tuesday, God replaced my normally small, gentle rolling Pacific ocean waves with the rarely seen gigantic, arching, crashing waves and has been giving us an incredible show ever since!  It is mesmerizing to watch them – I could do it for hours!  I shot this video on an unusual evening walk (I normally walk in the morning).  It cannot do it justice (the waves are actually even closer and larger than they appear in the video), but hopefully you get the idea.

 

Next, after several no-shows, on Wednesday my cabinet maker, Don Pedro, finally delivered my long awaited table and chairs!  I saw this set in a furniture store in the mall not long after I arrived.  Later, I went back, took pictures and measurements and eventually asked Don Pedro if he could make it for me – and he replicated it nearly perfectly for much less than it was in the mall, even on sale (and much better quality too).  He even included the cushions, which I was not expecting, and found a fabric that matches my decor PERFECTLY – I could not have chosen better myself – he truly is amazing and it was well worth the wait!

It's right at half way between regular table and bar height.

It’s right at half way between regular table and bar height.

Already had bought the scarf and candle set separately, just waiting to put them all together!

I had already bought the scarf and candle set separately, just waiting to put them all together!

Thirdly, God answered the prayers that some of you have been praying for me in an incredible way!  I made not one, but two new friends!  Very long story short, I had met both of these ladies briefly and separately within the first three months after I arrived (and unbeknownst to me, they later met each other and became good friends).  I was recently reunited with both of them and really sensed that we were “kindred spirits” and they were both women I needed to get to know better.  So I invited Barb and Teresa for coffee/tea Thursday morning (and thankfully, my table had arrived the day before, so they were my first “hospitality” on it).  They arrived at 9:00 a.m. and did not leave until after 4:00 p.m.!  It was so amazing to learn of so many overlapping similarities in our journeys.  The more we talked, the more we wanted to talk more!  We all agreed we want to get together again soon and frequently.

And lastly, a few weeks ago while I was in the mall standing in line to use the cash machine, I glanced over at the nearby t-shirt shop (remember the kind where you go in and choose your t-shirt and then the design you want them to imprint on it?) and saw an imprint I just HAD to have.  So today, as I was back shopping in the mall for some things, I decided to forgo a few groceries and buy my HAD to have item.  Those of you who know me and know about my job, can really appreciate why I just HAD to have this t-shirt!

Yes I am!

YES I AM!

2 thoughts on “Pick-Me-Ups

  1. Hi Mary,

    Well being from WI & having grown up along Lake Michigan, I can appreciate the crashing waves & it brings back great memories. Thanks for sharing.

    Pam

Leave a Reply

