New Adventures

Well, today I had another new adventure.  While waiting on the side of the road for the overdue bus to take me to Puerto Lopez, I was chatting (in my broken Spanish) over the fence with the nearby neighbor whose house I was standing in front of.  This elderly gentleman had recently boarded another bus with me to Puerto Lopez along with a small, very old fashioned TV he was presumably taking to be repaired.  Today, among our small talk, he mentioned that the coastal bus (the one that comes right by my development) is intermittent and it is easier to catch a bus at the stop in town – but that is quite a ways walk or a $2 motor taxi ride (and to give you an idea, the 30 minute bus ride to Jipijapa or Puerto Lopez is only $1 and the over one hour bus ride to Manta is $2!)  I acknowledged to him that what he was saying was “verdad” (true) “pero espero” (but I hope) the bus comes.  Just then, the neighbor across the street, a total stranger to me, came down the hill on his moped and pulled up to offer me a ride!  I asked him if he would take me to the bus stop and he nodded as if to say, “Of course, why do you think I’m stopping?”  I looked at my neighbor friend who smiled, nodded and waved his hand for me to go on, so I hopped on the back of the man’s moped and away we went!  All I kept thinking was, “If my mother could see me now!” 🙂 But while we were riding along and I was holding onto his shoulders, I was grateful I could take the opportunity to “lay hands on him” and pray blessings over him and his family for the kindness he showed to me.  When I hopped off at the gasoline station (that doubles as the bus stop) I thanked him, told him my name and that I live here in Puerto Cayo in Las Palmas (which, of course, is just down the road from him).  So that is how I made a new friend today!

Matthew 10:42 – “And if anyone gives even a cup of cold water (or a moped ride?) to one of these little ones who is my disciple, truly I tell you, that person will certainly not lose their reward.”

God, please bless my moped friend and I hope our paths will cross again soon!

Leave a Reply

