IT IS FINISHED!!!

I cannot believe I finally get to say MY HOUSE IS FINISHED!  Well, mostly, but Charcoal and I are moved in!  There are still a few small inside things left to complete, some outside work (fence, landscaping, rooftop pergola) as well as settling in and working out the kinks.  But here I am, nearly ONE YEAR from when I came to Ecuador, finally in my house!

I looked back on my previous posts and realized in the recent flurry of activity in my life that I neglected to officially mention that my builder went BANKRUPT and I had to finish my house myself!  Thank God for my previously mentioned contractor, Jordan, who I had already hired to do my tile repair and extra things not covered under my builder’s contract.  He had no problem stepping in and not only finishing what I needed, but correcting what had been done poorly/cheaply by my former builder.

I am honestly in a better position than the other people in my development, Las Palmas, who were using my builder.  The rest of them had much more money invested and much less house to show for it.  All this was not a surprise to me and is actually a common story in Ecuador.  My situation was actually much better than most stories I hear.  Ultimately, what money I lost was not mine, but God’s, so I trust God to deal with the one who robbed Him and to provide for and restore to me what I need.  I honestly had a mistrust of my builder early on, but prayed and still felt that, for whatever reason, God wanted me to stay with him.  So I trust God’s purposes and care for me, even in this situation.  I did not embark on this journey expecting it to be easy.  But I ended up with so much of a better finished product than I would have (including a well that will amply supply my water needs without relying on “someday” city water or trucked in delivery – and this is a big deal because water is such a precious resource in Ecuador).  So in the end, I feel that what I gained from this situation is actually much more than what I lost.

I also want to give a shout out thank you to my landlords, Ron and Janet.  They were so patient to graciously let me stay long beyond what either of us expected when I moved in (8 months instead of 3-4!).  I am so grateful for all their kindness and taking such good care of Charcoal and me.  Their home was a very comfortable place to wait out the completion of my house.  I will miss the companionship of “the compound” (both man and beast!), but am thankful for the solitude of my own home.  However, I know I will visit often and continue to enjoy their friendship.

For now I am settling in, with very little furniture, etc.  Once I get myself squared away and everything is completed, I will make a video tour of my new home and post it for your viewing pleasure.  Until then, please send your long distance prayers over me in “Casa de la Paz Al Lado del Mar” – my “House of Peace by the Sea”.

“Truly I tell you,” Jesus replied, “no one who has left home or brothers or sisters or mother or father or children or fields for me and the gospel will fail to receive a hundred times as much in this present age: homes, brothers, sisters, mothers, children and fields—along with persecutions—and in the age to come eternal life.”  (Mark 10:29-30)

Leave a Reply

