Where I Belong

I love my life in Ecuador!  Although in many ways it is very different and more difficult than my former life in the United States, it has continued to amaze me how God has truly made this place more “home” to me than anywhere I lived before.  I would have never dreamed in a million years that I would find the life I now live here to be “comfortable” to me – and yet, it feels like I am finally living the life I was born to live.

Having said that, I still continue to carry with me the same feeling I’ve had for many years – that ultimately this is not where I belong.  This song has become a theme song for me because it is truly how I’ve felt for some time now – I hope you will listen/read and know that no matter where you are that you may call home, it’s not where you belong either.

 

“These all died in faith without receiving the things promised, but they saw them in the distance and welcomed them and acknowledged that they were strangers and foreigners on the earth. For those who speak in such a way make it clear that they are seeking a homeland. In fact, if they had been thinking of the land that they had left, they would have had opportunity to return. But as it is, they aspire to a better land, that is, a heavenly one. Therefore, God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared a city for them.”   (Hebrews 11:13-16 NET)

3 thoughts on “Where I Belong

  1. I think of Heaven all the time!!! And, I’m absolutely OK with that now. It is in fact my final destination. But in the meantime, I am collecting all the hidden treasures and lessons Jesus has left specifically tailored for me to find on this currently unregenerate earth. It is so like God to leave His children tasty breadcrumbs leading them back to Heaven and Himself. A trip we all make knowingly or unknowingly every moment of our physical life away from Him. A trip of ever growing courage to expose ourselves to loving yet penetrating gaze into a heart He already knows so well and longs to abide in all the more. It seems to me to be a process of uncovering ourselves.

Leave a Reply

