Mother’s Day and Anniversary

Well, today is Mother’s Day – so first I want to wish a happy Mother’s Day to all my friends out there who are mothers or mothers soon-to-be (Katy!)  🙂

My visit on Mother's Day last year - daisies were her favorite. The epitaph says it all.

My visit on Mother’s Day last year – daisies were her favorite. The epitaph says it all.

My sweet Mommy - I'm so happy to know I will see her again soon!

My sweet Mommy – I’m so happy to know I will see her again soon!

Most of you know I lost my own sweet mother almost two and a half years ago (story here) – so of course I think of her on this day.  I am grateful for all the love she gave me and the many sacrifices she made in her life that helped me to be where and become who I am today.  I am so thankful that I know she is resting with Jesus and I will see her again soon!

Many of you also know (but some of you may not) that I was adopted and that just over 20 years ago I found my birthmother – also “coincidentally” named Mary!  She lives in California and I have been able to see her about once a year.  I have been so blessed to have gotten to know and have her in my life these past 20 years (and subsequently the rest of my biological family).  The story of all these events of my life would take a whole book to write (and I’ve been told it would make a great movie as well – it has been suggested that Sandra Bullock or Anne Hathaway should play me!)  But suffice it to say, I am grateful and blessed for the “providential” events of my life!

Me with my Birthmother, Mary - taken at my last visit last April.

Me with my Birthmother, Mary – taken at my last visit in April of last year.

And finally, today is actually the six month anniversary of the day I arrived in Ecuador – can you believe it?!  In some ways it seems like just yesterday – I cannot believe I’ve been gone for half a year!  And yet in other ways, I am so comfortable in my life here, that the life I lived before seems eons away!

So I’m thankful for the significance of this day, in all its forms – and also simply because This is the day the Lord has made.  (I) will rejoice and be glad in it. (Psalm 118:24)

3 thoughts on “Mother’s Day and Anniversary

  1. Happy Mothers Day to you too. Hope it is a lovely day for you. Still no home for us here as yet. Ken is really enjoying his new job. Love you. Thank you Jesus for our mothers. Jean

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Mary…wonderful comments on mothers and your own thoughts on life. You continue to be a positive and blessed person who gives of herself to others. We read of Tag and you and the departure of your friends and now of your six month anniversary. You have certainly accomplished so very much in your time there. Be safe, be blessed, and know you are thought of…love from us…John and Jean (PS…thanks for the pic. of mother Mary…we have talked with her a few times, but have not had pics recently).

Leave a Reply

