Another Fun Fruit

Well, once again I bring you another new (to me) and interesting fruit I’ve discovered in Ecuador – Passiflora ligularis, commonly known as the Sweet Granadilla or Grenadia (and simply referred to as “Granadilla” here locally)My friend, Jo, (one of my “Visa Angels“) and I were shopping in the fruit/veggie market in Jipijapa several weeks ago and she asked if I had ever tried one.  I told her I had not, so she encouraged me to buy one and do so.  It was several days before I finally partook, but now I am in love!!!  So how do I describe this amazing fruit to you?

Here is a picture of the whole fruit, then one opened with seeds in one side and scooped out of the other.

Here is a picture of the whole fruit, then one opened with seeds in one side and scooped out of the other.

Here are the seeds and pulp in a bowl, ready to eat - this has become my favorite dessert!

Here are the seeds and pulp in a bowl, ready to eat – this has become my favorite dessert!

Granadillas are roughly the size of a tennis ball, are yellow/orange colored and have a smooth, hard (but thin) outer shell and a soft white interior that protects the seeds. The seeds are hard and black and are surrounded by a gelatin-like transparent pulp. The pulp has a soft, sweet taste similar to passion fruit, but is less tart/tangy and much sweeter.  It also tastes similar to the flesh of a white grape.  The taste is mild with a hint of citrus.  Although the sweet pulp is considered to be the edible part, the seeds are also edible and I find them to have a wonderful, light crunch to them (and of course, are great for fiber), so I just scoop all the insides out with a spoon and eat it either directly from the fruit or a bowl.  Since my original purchase, I have consumed many, many more and they have now become a staple item on my grocery list!

So there you have it – another delectable exotic fruit to tempt you with – I’m trying to give you every possible reason to want to come visit me!  🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Another Fun Fruit

  1. Really does not look appetizing, but I trust you. Think I’d probably love it if I could get past how it looks 🙂

Leave a Reply

