Enjoying Creation

As I’ve said many times before, I really enjoy creation!  Not just the amazing ocean, mountains, stars and other beauty I get to view living in this part of the world, but also various other parts of God’s creation, large and small – here is just a sample of what I’ve encountered lately:

Would you eat something that looks like this?

Would you eat something that looks like this?

Peel open the outer layer and pop out a white, grape like fruit surrounding a seedseed

Peel open the outer layer and pop out a white, grape like fruit surrounding a seed

Would you eat something that looks like this?  Well, I decided to try it – and it would definitely surprise you!  This fruit is known in Ecuador as Achotillo (but is also known in other parts of the world as Rambutan).  The outer skin is reddish and covered with pliable spines. The fruit flesh is a translucent whitish color with a mild, sweet flavor reminiscent of a grape, but a bit chewier.  There is one large seed in the middle and you basically suck and chew until you’ve gotten as much of the flavor and flesh as you can, then spit out the seed (the flesh does not easily detach from it, so you are leaving some intact – see picture).  It is quite tasty – a very interesting “nature’s wrapped candy”!

Who, but God, could make such an amazing creation?!

Who, but God, could make such an amazing creation?!

I’ve honestly stopped “treasure hunting” on the beach and only pick up things that just “jump into my path” – and the other day this incredible shell was one of them!  Who, but God, could make such an amazing creation?!  Just look at it and think for a minute – an animal print “border” with an iridescent purple and maroon center!  The photo just cannot do it justice!  I was astounded at this small, but beautiful one-time home of some creature – very nicely decorated, don’t you think?!

How could anyone resist such a sweet face?!

How could anyone resist such a sweet face?!

Lastly, I’ve always said that no matter how ugly the adult may be, I challenge you to find any baby animal that is not cute – and this little one certainly stole our hearts!  One of our Ecuadorian neighbors (Rico’s owner, who doesn’t take care of the dogs he has), brought this little girl home and Janet convinced him to hand her over!  So she named her Roxy and was fostering her until she could find a home – which barely took two days!  A sweet American family with a 5 year old little girl (who arrived about the same time I did and who I had previously met), adopted Roxy into their hearts and home.  We had fun with her for the few days she was here – it was like watching a toddler discover their world!  I’m thrilled her new family lives near by and I will get to watch her grow up!

So those are just a few of the wonders of creation that have crossed my path lately – how about you?

One thought on “Enjoying Creation

  1. Love this! You’re expanding *my* world. If you peeled the fruit for me, I’d try it! Then I could peel my own. 🙂 🙂 The shell is amazing! Who need God liked to decorate in animal prints?? 🙂 (well, other than his animals) heh heh

Leave a Reply

