Remembering “Emmie”

Well, there are many things I could have written about today, but the one that seemed to be most appropriate is about one of my longtime, sweetest friends – my cat Embers.  Yesterday, my former husband contacted me to let me know that today he would have to put our 19½ year old “Emmie” to sleep.  She was diagnosed with renal failure six years ago, but on special food and supplements lived a stable, happy, symptom free life until last month.  Because of her age and health issues, I chose not to bring her with me when I moved to Ecuador, so I said a VERY hard goodbye and left her with him (he loves her very much as well and was thankful for the opportunity to have her with him again).  He got in touch last month to let me know she had taken a bad turn and was also diagnosed with pancreatitis.  Although she rebounded from that episode, we knew it was just a matter of time and sure enough, about a week ago she stopped eating again.  He gave her “kitty Ensure” to try to see if she would bounce back again, but after a few hopeful days, she stopped taking it as well and pretty much started shutting down.  So he made the difficult, but compassionate decision that it was time to let her go.  As we did with our oldest cat, Ashes, six years ago this month, he is having a service come to the house (literally as I type this) to help her comfortably go to “kitty heaven.”  I was able to do a FaceTime call last night to see her one last time – she seemed to respond to my voice (and she and Charcoal even appeared to recognize each other!)

So today’s blog is to remember my sweet “middle child,” who I found in a ditch at a garage sale in Houston while visiting my childhood best friend, Barbara, nearly 20 years ago.  Emmie (also known as “Little Em” or “Ember glow”) was one of the sweetest natured cats you would ever know – actually, we used to say she was more like a dog!  She would always run to greet us at the door when we came home, was very vocal and affectionate, never met a stranger and always wanted to snuggle any time you were seated or lying down (on numerous occasions I woke up with her chin resting on my face in the mornings!)

Here are a few pictures of wonderful memories of my sweet, longtime companion (she basically lived to 100 in kitty years).  I am confident I will see her again in my heavenly “cat harem”!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

9 thoughts on “Remembering “Emmie”

  1. so sorry for your loss Mary. This is not an animal, it is like a child. Same as my Tag, and my other 2 dogs and one cat before him. Hugs, my friend.

  2. Mary, I am sorry for your loss. It is so hard to loose a pet, especially one like Emmy. I know we we get to see them all again Emmy, Alvin, & Simon when we get to see Jesus. I love you. Jean

  3. Oh Mary, I am so sad for you and Embers; I so totally remember that sweet thang during home church oh so many years ago. We knew it was a matter of time, and like my precious Aunt Martha’s passing, it is never easy. I wish I was there with you so we could mull over photos together and talk about all the crazy things our ‘hairy family members’ have done. it could at least bring a weepy smile to our faces for a moment. A friend of mine had to put her golden doodle down a week ago (actually, on Martha’s funeral date) so it’s been one week of weepy countenances in Beaumont. Maranatha!!!! Please!! Love you, Alli-Boo

  4. I loved your story of Emmie, especially since I’m mom to a tuxedo who will be 19 in May and will be facing the same decision soon. I was told that she was in kidney and liver failure 9 years ago and would not last more than a few weeks. Thanks to Gerber’s baby food fed out of a spoon for 6 weeks, she stayed just a bit longer! They are truly our furry children!

  5. Poor Emmy! I remember that day. She was such a pretty girl. I am so sorry for your loss. You remember Twitter kitty? She lived 26 years, can you believe that? We got her when I was 4 years old, and she died when I was 28. 😦

  6. Thank you to everyone who posted comments and sent emails offering condolences for Emmie. Quite honestly, the most gut wrenching part for me was back in October – I knew then that it would likely be the last time I would see her (and the sobbing was quite extreme!) I am, of course, sad, but so thankful she lived a long, good quality life and finished well.

  7. Oh Mary, I know this is late…but i’m sorry for your loss. There is just nothing like the unconditional love of pets and the grief we feel when they leave us. Prayers for peace my sweet friend.

Leave a Reply

