On My Walk…

This sea turtle was caught in a net, but the fishermen were very careful with it and set it free!

This sea turtle was caught in a net, but the fishermen were very careful with it and set it free!

Well, yesterday I encountered something on my morning walk that I never did see in my daily walk around the “High” streets back home – a sea turtle!  In all honesty, this is not the first one I’ve seen here.  I first saw one about a month after I arrived.  I was having a beach day and saw a group of people looking at something and decided to check it out.  Turns out it was a turtle with a damaged shell, but the group decided to help it return to the water.  Since then, I saw several off the shore on our trip to Isla de la Plata (see this post – Island Adventure); I’ve seen one caught in a fisherman’s net that was dragged to shore and watched it be released; and sadly, I’ve seen a few dead ones on the beach (and one Sunday morning on a beach walk, I even saw a newly hatched baby as it made it’s way to the water – I stood behind him and cheered him on until he safely reached the ocean!)

It appears she was burrowing in the sand to lay her eggs!

It appears she was burrowing in the sand to lay her eggs!

But this lady (I know, because once hatched, male sea turtles never return to shore), was apparently here to do what sea turtles come to shore to do – lay her eggs!  They return to the place they hatched from in order to do this.  I did not want to intrude, so after a brief greeting, I continued on my way.  But when I returned, I could see the trail she had made and although she seemed to barely be moving before, she had been quite busy in the hour I had been gone!  She appeared to be looking for just the right spot to dig her hole.  I was a bit concerned about her, because she ended up in a pit that has been made from trucks that come and haul away sand from a public beach access area (which we are working to get stopped).  But I said a little prayer over her and trusted her into God’s care.  When I returned this morning, she was gone!

God knows how much I love and marvel at His creation and He has been so gracious to take this former Dallas city girl to a place where she can really revel in it!

Leave a Reply

