Beach Companions

My beach buddies - L to R: Coby, Vera & Bruna

My beach buddies – L to R: Coby, Vera & Bruna

In addition to all the wonderful new human friends I’ve made here in Ecuador (that have been mentioned many times in my blog), the Lord has also provided me with some sweet companionship of the four legged variety!  Those of you who know me well know what a HUGE animal lover I am.  Cats are what the Lord chose to bring for my day to day companionship – I have owned four in my adult life, all who He brought without me looking – and of course my sweet Charcoal is the one He provided to be my traveling companion on this journey.  But I truly love all (well almost all) of God’s creatures, including dogs.

There are four dogs nearby that come calling from time to time.  Of course there is Tag, who belongs to my upstairs neighbors and whose story is chronicled in these two posts: “A Fresh Start” and “Living A Dog’s Life” – he is now thriving and is a frequent playmate around the yard and on the beach (his favorite game being fetch).  The sweet young couple who manage the hostel next door have a male dog named Coby.  His is a very good watch dog – I always feel confident he would bark (and act on it) at any potential intruder.  He also loves beach games – especially chasing a rope I throw and retrieving it from the surf.  Then Sam, my neighbor from Switzerland, who recently opened his bed and breakfast Jardin Suizo (where Robert and David have stayed), has two very sweet female dogs, mother – Bruna and her daughter – Vera.  All these dogs have access to our yard and join me from time to time on the beach.

But Vera is the one who is my most constant companion.  Every morning when I go down for my praise and prayer time, it will amaze me how I can look around and see no sign of her – and then shortly, out of the blue, she shows up out of nowhere at my side!  We play the chase game that she loves and then she will walk with me and just generally hang out as I’m singing and praying.  When I sit down on my sitting rock, she comes and stays beside me.  And if anybody walks down the beach, she barks at them to let them know they need to keep their distance from her friend.  She has a very sweet, loving, playful spirit and I am so happy to have such wonderful companionship!

I truly praise God for all of His creation and am grateful that He provided it for our blessing and enjoyment.

Vera - my prayer partner

Vera – my prayer partner

Vera on the beach

She loves the water/beach as much as I do and frequently joins me for prayer time and beach days.

“But ask the animals, and they will teach you, or the birds in the sky, and they will tell you; or speak to the earth, and it will teach you, or let the fish in the sea inform you. Which of all these does not know that the hand of the Lord has done this?  In his hand is the life of every creature and the breath of all mankind.” (Job 12:7-10 NIV)

Leave a Reply

