More Hard Times

Well, after finally getting my temporary visa, I had a short, but very sweet week reprieve before more difficult times hit. All the details cannot be spelled out here, but among other things yesterday, I was told that I will have to move out of my current rental before my house is finished. This is a very disappointing thing to say the least and I haven’t even fully grasped all the implications of it, but among other things, it will come just at the time I would be starting back to work and will likely cause me to miss out on our busiest time of year and result in significant loss of income. So now on top of sorting through the visa issue and entering a time that will require a lot of attention with my house (picking out finishes, appliances, furnishings, etc. – and remember that because of location and transportation, shopping is not nearly as easy as back in the states) I have to deal with this. Yesterday was not a good day! But today I say along with Jeremiah, “Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope: Because of the Lord ’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, ‘The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for Him.’ The Lord is good to those whose hope is in Him, to the one who seeks Him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.” (Lamentations 3:21-26 NIV)

2 thoughts on “More Hard Times

  1. How come you have to move, and what is the work you allude to that you will miss? We really want things to work out well and will continue praying. Peace and blessings to you.

    • Thanks John & Jean – My landlady has decided that when her family comes to visit in May she wants to have the whole place available for herself. She has asked me to move out by the first part of April.

      Back home I work part-time taking calls for a small, family owned company that does beehive removals (Jefferson, my friend who traveled with me when I first came here, is from Brazil and is one of our technicians). Sometime before I left, I learned that I could get Vonage here, keep my home U.S. number and be able to continue to work from here. I’ve been taking a break since the first of November because it is the slow season and I needed the time to transition. But my plan has been to start back to work March 1. In order to do so, I have to have a “hardwired” internet connection to plug my Vonage box into (not just WiFi) and in most rentals that would not be available.

      Thank you for your prayers!

Leave a Reply

