What are you going to “DO” in Ecuador?

I love this question – it is one of the ones I’ve been asked the most along this journey.  I find it amusing on many levels.  First, different people mean different things when they ask this question.  Some mean, “What are you going to do to earn a living?”  That is understandable.  Interestingly enough, when I accepted this assignment, I had absolutely no idea!  But I trusted that if God was calling me to go, He would provide a way to sustain me.  Along the way, I found out that my little part-time job that came to me through a friend, where I could work from home taking calls for a family owned business that does bee hive removals, would port with me (thanks to Vonage) to Ecuador!  So the job that I thought was just providing some income to keep me from totally living off savings while I prepared to go, (and allowed me to work from home so I could continue to “get my house in order”) now provides enough income to pretty much support me in this much less expensive economy – is God creative or what?!

But I believe most people in my circles, when they ask this question, mean “What are you going to do for God?”  They assume that if I’m going, I must be planning some type of mission work or ministry.  While I am confident God has “good works He has prepared in advance for me to do” while I am here (Eph 2:10), that is not why I have come (see “Story” page for background).  Which brings me to what I find so amusing – that although many people read my initial letter explaining why I was moving, they just could not seem to process that I wasn’t going in order to “DO” something.  I find this to be an interesting commentary on something I’ve been pondering about our society for some time – that we seem to define ourselves and our worth by what we “do”.  We have become “human doings” rather than “human beings”.

Over the past few years I have been faced with the fact that most of the things people ask when they meet you, to get a sense of who you are, I am void of.  I will go somewhere and meet somebody who will ask me, “Are you married?” – No; “Do you have kids?” – No; “What do you do?” (meaning, “What is your job?” – and for a time I didn’t have one) – Nothing.  All the things that our society uses to label and define who we are, were absent from my life.  And yet, I know who I am and Whose I am – and that alone is where my value comes from.  And the One Who loves me unlike any other, loves me for who I AM and not what I DO.

So the answer to the question, “What are you going to DO in Ecuador?” – LIVE!

This is a view from an overlook of Puerto Cayo - the village I live in.

This is a view from an overlook of Puerto Cayo – the village I live in.

Gail, me and Jefferson at Puerto Cayo overlook

Gail, me and Jefferson at Puerto Cayo overlook

Here I am standing on my lot for the first time!

Here I am standing on my lot for the first time!

View of my development - Las Palmas

View of my development – Las Palmas

Jefferson found his own "Tienda" (store)!

Jefferson found his own “Tienda” (shop)!

L to R - Maria (my new landlady), Bill & Elaine (renting out upstairs until Feb) - wonderful new friends!

L to R – Maria (my new landlady), Bill & Elaine (renting out upstairs until Feb) – wonderful new friends! (We picked these watermelons growing wild in our neighbor’s yard!)

Maria's house (I'm renting bottom half)

Maria’s house (I’m renting bottom half)

Perspective - I took this shot of the house from the beach

Perspective – I took this shot of the house from the beach

My daily view (looking left down beach)

My daily view (looking left down beach)

Rock garden

Instead of shells, the ocean deposits these beautiful colored rocks on the beach – I have officially started my rock garden!

First sunset!

First sunset!

2 thoughts on “What are you going to “DO” in Ecuador?

Leave a Reply

